28 Weeks

This past week has been quit busy as far as pregnancy is concerned. I actually had so many things in mind to share in this update, but unfortunately I seemed to have forgotten most of them. I definitely need to be writing my thoughts down more often. Over the past week we had a trip to the hospital where we found out that our little boy now weighs over 1,2kgs; I attended my first birth preparation class; and experienced many of the wonderful joys of being pregnant. I am so excited about the little life growing within me. Several times over the past week like usual I woke up in the night to pee, but had a hard time falling asleep again, as I was enjoying to feel the little movements and squirms of my boy. I was filled with so much excitement about his coming arrival that sleep seemed impossible. Also during this past wee we finally hung up the art work I have down for his room, so it is now close to complete. I look forward to becoming a mother and find myself reading more and more about child care and parenting.

suck-in-gut1
Pregnancy Quote that I found on google, not sure of original site.

Hospital Trip

Early Friday morning I started to experience painful cramps. Up to this point in my pregnancy I haven’t experienced any cramps. These cramps lasted the entire day. By lunch time I was starting to wonder if the cramps I was experiencing was normal as I wasn’t sure how to tell if what I was feeling was normal or not. So I called into the hospital to ask if it is something I should be concerned about. The lady I spoke to  suggested that I come in so that could run some tests just to be sure that everything was fine. So after lunch my husband collected me and off we went to the hospital. When we arrived I was attached to a machine which monitored our baby’s heart rate and movement. The machine also measured if the pain I was feeling was contractions or not. Luckily the pain I was feeling was not contractions. I loved that we could listen to our little boy’s heart beat for 30min. It was such a beautiful sound. At one point I actually started to giggle a little to myself because my little bear was moving so much in me that I found it funny.

While attached to these monitors I had to drink a lot of water so that they would be able to test my urine afterwards to make sure that there wasn’t any other problem causing the cramping. I was very happy to hear afterwards that my pee came back clear since I have had several urine infections during this pregnancy. Next I was sent for scans. We had a scan done and were glad to see that our little boy is looking healthy, he is so much bigger than the last time we saw him in a scan. I couldn’t believe the growth that has taken place and all the details we were able to see.

So after finding out that everything was fine with our little boy and that I have a healthy pregnancy the doctor prescribed magnesium which is supposed to help my muscles relax. I have been taking it for a few days and have noticed that it is being to help with the cramping. I think that my little boy must be doing a lot of growing at the moment, I am so happy that he is healthy.

Birth Preparation Class

Last night I attended my first birth prep class. I got ready in a bit of a rush and then was stuck in traffic on the way to the hospital. We really didn’t anticipate for there to be traffic. I began to stress as I really don’t like to be late, although I have recently learnt to relax a little about time. When I arrived he class had just started, all the women were already sitting on the floor with a pregnancy pillow wrapped around them to be comfortable. Although it was a bit of an interesting start, it was wonderful to meet a group of ladies who are in the same phase of pregnancy. It was wonderful to hear their stories how they are experiencing their pregnancy so far. The class was in German so this require a lot of concentration on my part. I was very happy that I could understand and follow for most of the class and glad that the other women knew enough english to understand me. I look forward to learning more about birth and what to expect on the day that we will meet our little boy for the first time. There are five more evenings of this course, my husband will attend the last two evenings with. I think I am most excited about those evenings and experiencing it with him.

Looking forward to what this next week of pregnancy will bring.

